My Magical Moment

5 Feb

So, I had the post-coital test. It was much like a pap smear, but I did experience much more cramping immediately and hours after. First, the doctor took a sample of my cervical mucus and placed it under a microscope as I watched on a tiny monitor. The little swimmers looked exactly as depicted in illustrations- big heads and long tails. There was one difference that I did not expect- their heads glowed! It was sort of magical for me. All I could think was that one of the little guys (the ones still inside me) could be one half of our future little one. As I was oohing and ahhing over this, Dr. S suggested I peer into the microscope and whoa! There seemed to be millions of little spermies swimming around. I’ll admit this made my skin crawl a bit. I mean, I was the child who was grossed out by a bowl of oatmeal because it seem to be moving and don’t get me started on ant mounds. Ew! After the test, the doctor decided that we  probably should not try IUI for fear of multiples, but instead we should BD at home. I left feeling pretty darn hopeful. We followed instructions, and I’m officially in my TWW. Hoping it ends as magically as it began.

4 Responses to “My Magical Moment”

  1. gabywithoneb March 19, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    so excited for you! im in my tww also. hoping to test sunday or next thursday 🙂 lots of baby dust to you!!

    • apenn March 19, 2013 at 1:57 am #

      No prob. Sounds like you had some promising follicles there. Sending a truckload of baby dust your way. Keep me posted on your progress 😉

  2. gabywithoneb March 19, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    ooops… totally read this wayyyyy late. im a dork…

Leave a comment

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss education and democracy

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

the brixton housewife

...not the stereotypical picture

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

My MMC Story

My journey from pregnancy, through missed miscarriage and beyond

myMCMlife.com

musings on a life inspired by art, faith and family

you can't choose when

A good friend told me, "You will have a family, you just can't choose when". Here is my story.

Kat Echevarría Richter

Writing left handed

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

Fertility Doll

Infertility. Fearing. Accepting. Trying.

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews